Winterthur

Winterthur is famous for its world-class art collections, its vivid historic city center and its music- and comedy-scene. Large parks and gardens are bringing metropolitan flair and small town naturalness to the city.

Discover science that you can touch, play and understand in the Swiss Science Center Technorama. Get to know the collection of modern photography in the Fotomuseum Winterthur or visit the medieval castle Kyburg. Besides that the nightlife of Winterthur offers many bars and clubs for every age and taste.

Swiss Science Center Technorama

Through playful ways to get to know scientific phenomenons, you’ll get practical rather than plain factual knowledge in the Swiss Science Center Technorama. These experiences, that you will gain with all you senses, are the requirement for true understanding and the foundation for later theoretical examination. This way of learning goes in hand with moments of amazement and insights, experimenting with the exhibits will playfully arouse the enthusiasm and interest for science and technology.

Fotomuseum Winterthur

In collaboration with the Fotostiftung Schweiz, the Fotomuseum Winterthur operates as center for photography with a bistro, a library, seminar rooms, a lounge and a shop. In addition to the the traveling exhibitions, the Fotomuseum Winterthur offers a collection of modern photography with creations of Nobuyoshi Araki, Vanessa Beecroft, Lewis Baltz, Daniele Buetti, Larry Clark, Hans Danuser, William Eggleston, Nicolas Faure, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Robert Frank, Nan Goldin, Paul Graham, Andreas Gursky, Roni Horn, Axel Hütte, Urs Lüthi, Boris Mikhailov, Gilles Peress, Liza May Post, Thomas Ruff, Annelies Štrba and many more.

Kyburg castle

If you ever wanted to know: how living was at a medieval castle, what the local reeve was serving the guests for dinner, what happened to the thief Johannes Grün or Cleophea Isler, who was accused for child murder, what knights wear under their armor, how old and real the iron maiden really is, how castles were build in medieval times or what the major of Zurich let pack in his bags for his trip to the french king in paris.

Nightlife

Experience the nightlife of Winterthur and turn night into day. Visit bars with live acts and concerts, meet for a drink in a rustical bar or dance into the night in the hottest clubs of the city. Winterthur offers several bars and clubs with different music genres so that there is a location for every age and taste.

Winterthur und Umgebung

Mit seinen Kunstsammlungen von Weltformat, seiner lebendigen Altstadt und der Musik- und Comedyszene bietet Winterthur ein wahres Feuerwerk der Kultur. Grosszügige Parkanlagen und Gärten bescheren der Stadt einen Mix aus grossstädtischem Flair und kleinstädtischer Natürlichkeit.

Entdecken Sie Probierstationen zum berühren, begreifen und spielen im Swiss Science Center Technorama. Stoßen Sie auf eine Sammlung zeitgenössischer Fotografie im Fotomuseum Winterthur oder besuchen Sie das mittelalterliche Schloss Kyburg. Auch das Nachtleben in Winterthur kommt nicht zu kurz und bietet für Jung und Alt eine Vielzahl an Bars und Clubs.

Swiss Science Center Technorama

Im spielerischen Umgang mit den Phänomenen wird Erfahrungswissen statt reines Faktenwissen vermittelt. Diese mit allen Sinnen gemachten Erfahrungen sind die Voraussetzung für echtes Verständnis und die Grundlage späterer theoretischer Betrachtungen. Die Exponate erlauben den Besuchern, die Welt im doppelten Sinn des Wortes zu „be-greifen“. Da dies für jeden Menschen mit einem Funken Neugierde unweigerlich mit verblüffenden, erstaunlichen Momenten und Erkenntnissen einhergeht, weckt das Experimentieren fast spielerisch die Begeisterung für Naturwissenschaft und Technik.

Fotomuseum Winterthur

Gemeinsam mit der Fotostiftung Schweiz betreibt das Fotomuseum Winterthur seit Herbst 2003 ein Zentrum für Fotografie mit Bistro, Bibliothek, Seminarräumen, Lounge und Shop. In den erweiterten neuen Räumlichkeiten präsentiert das Fotomuseum Winterthur parallel zu den Wechselausstellungen in wechselnden Zugriffen seine Sammlung zeitgenössischer Fotografie: Unter vielen anderen mit Werken von Nobuyoshi Araki, Vanessa Beecroft, Lewis Baltz, Daniele Buetti, Larry Clark, Hans Danuser, William Eggleston, Nicolas Faure, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Robert Frank, Nan Goldin, Paul Graham, Andreas Gursky, Roni Horn, Axel Hütte, Urs Lüthi, Boris Mikhailov, Gilles Peress, Liza May Post, Thomas Ruff, Annelies Štrba.

Schloss Kyburg

Falls Sie schon immer wissen wollten: wie es auf einem Ritterfest zu- und herging, was Frau Landvögtin den Gästen auftischte, wie es dem Dieb Johannes Grün aus Kaufbeuren oder der als Kindsmörderin angeklagten Cleophea Isler aus Weisslingen erging, was ein Ritter unter der Rüstung trug, wie alt und echt die Eiserne Jungfrau wirklich ist, wie im Mittelalter eine Burg gebaut wurde, was sich der Bürgermeister von Zürich für die Reise nach Paris zum französischen König in seinen Koffer packen liess.

Nachtleben

Erleben Sie Winterthurs Nightlife und machen Sie die Nacht zum Tag. Besuchen Sie Bars mit Live-Acts und Konzerten, verabreden Sie sich auf einen Drink in einer urigen Bar oder tanzen Sie die Nacht durch in den angesagten Clubs der Stadt. Winterthur bietet viele verschiedene Bars und Clubs mit unterschiedlichen Musikrichtungen an, sodass sich für jeden Geschmack und Altersklasse die passende Location finden lässt.